Odd Lots

Hello friends. This will be our last offering for 2009, and it is an offering of odd lots. When I was starting Full Pull over the summer, one of the requirements on my liquor license was to have at least $3000 of inventory in the warehouse at any time. To build up to that amount, I bought some parcels of wines I knew I would offer in the coming months. In the case of the wines below, the wineries and distributors sadly sold out of the wine in the mean time, leaving me only able to offer the tiny amount I procured in my original purchase.

Both of these wines are extremely limited, to the point that I will ask you to limit order requests to a maximum of 1 bottle of each wine. These will be sold on a first come first served basis until we’re sold out.

2008 Syncline Gruner Veltliner Underwood Mountain Vineyard

Gruner Veltliner is the great white wine grape of Austria, where it makes high-acid, bizarrely-beautiful white wines with distinct vegetal notes of lentil, corn, and hay. As far as I can tell, Syncline (whose Cuvee Elena we offered last week) is the only Washington winery currently producing Gruner. It comes from Underwood Mountain Vineyard in the Columbia Gorge AVA, and it only hints at the vegetal nature of the varietal, with some background grassy notes. This is a tart, acid-driven bottling with lots of citrus notes, and it shows best with food. A great bottle for those of you (I include myself in this group) who like to geek out to obscure varietals.

2006 Ross Andrew Syrah Boushey Vineyard

I have previously sung the praises of Boushey Vineyard and the funky Syrahs that it produces. This is one of the most reasonably-priced bottlings of Boushey Syrah in the state, and it’s made by a man who has a deep comfort level with the vineyard. Ross Mickel was the assistant winemaker at Betz Family Winery for years before branching off on his own. During that time, he helped to craft the Betz La Serenne Syrah, which always comes from Boushey Vineyard fruit. Smoked  meats on the nose, and the palate brings a core of sweet, black cherry fruit framed by notes of iron and other minerals.

As a reminder, please limit order requests to a maximum of 1 bottle of each wine. These wines are already in the warehouse and could be picked up during our open hours today, Wednesday, or Thursday.

We’ll be back with more offerings in early January. In the mean time, happy holidays!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

