2009 Andrew Will Pinot Noir

Hello friends. We have a jaw-dropping wine today, a collaboration between Oregon and Washington exemplars, a Supergroup if you will (well, a Supergroup more like these guys than like these guys.

This wine was offered to me as an exclusive, and I bit: I purchased every available bottle. My understanding was that, prior to this, the wine had only been sold to the Andrew Will mailing list and to a few select restaurants; never through retail channels. A quick click on wine-searcher does show one other retailer in North Carolina stocking the wine. It’s a bit more expensive, but those of you on the east coast might consider it for the savings in shipping costs.

When I first tasted this wine, I almost spit it out (well, eventually I always spit out samples, but you know what I mean). A lot of Washington winemakers play around with Oregon Pinot fruit, usually to lackluster effect. But this was dynamite.

“Where did you guys source the grapes?” I asked.

“Archery Summit” came the response.

“Oh.”

Yes, *that* Archery Summit, the “Rolls-Royce of Oregon Pinot Noir” (Wine Spectator), whose Archery Summit Estate Pinot Noir runs a cool $150.

Rarely will I tag a $40+ Pinot Noir with the “value” label, but this gets it: where else can you taste this fruit at this tariff?

A quick word on style, because this is clearly Archery Summit fruit, and that means big (I don’t mean the alcohol, which is a moderate 13.8%; just the fruit). Many of the Pinots we offer tend towards the leaner side of the spectrum; this is not one of them. This is closer to California than it is to Burgundy, more about power and richness and overt deliciousness.

The aromatics are wild – dark and beautiful, existing somewhere in a middle ground between Pinot Noir and Syrah: black cherry, forest floor, beef jerky, and this soaring marine element: a pastiche of seaweed and oyster shell. It’s deeply compelling stuff; hard to pull your nose out of the glass. All that complexity continues on the palate, and the texture is so supple, so velvety, that a quick swoon is the only reasonable response. As the savory, umami-filled finish lingered and lingered, I was left with only one question: why doesn’t Chris Camarda make this every year?

Please limit order requests to 6 bottles, and we’ll do our best to fulfill all requests. As I mentioned, the wine is already in the warehouse and available for immediate pickup or shipping during the autumn shipping window.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

