2007 Saint Laurent Cabernet Sauvignon

Hello friends. Okay, this is embarrassing. After my whole screed about the boy who cried wolf with regards to the (ever-dwindling, I swear!) 2007 vintage in Washington, this is now our third 07 in two weeks. You’d think 07 was the current-release vintage on the market.

Egads.

But what can I do? These wines can’t be ignored, when they come from a stellar vintage and especially when they come in at this tariff.

So I taste the 07s, almost hoping I won’t like them so I can avoid this public shaming. But despite that bias, I find myself seduced. Again.

Wolf!

Long-term list members will remember Saint Laurent from the well-loved 2006 Syrah that we offered about a year ago. As a reminder, Saint Laurent started with a fruit-growing family on the Wahluke Slope (apples, cherries, blueberries) who took that experience and branched into wine grapes. They farm the land, they make the wine from their single vineyard, and they fly well under the radar. So this is six-year-old, single-vineyard, estate-grown Cabernet from the Wahluke Slope, at a serious discount (down from a $30 release price). Worthy of the wolf, I’d say.

I found the nose on this to be just lovely. The fruit has taken on that beautiful dried character that only comes with age, and this presents a singing core of dried-cherry fruit, buffered by notes of pomegranate and rose petal. There is still plenty of tannic heft here, and the fruit is still quite fresh. You could easily hold these for another 3-5 years. But there’s no real need to wait; it’s in an awfully nice spot right now, a lovely mix of cherry, aprium, cedar, and woodsmoke. This has the stuffing to punch well above its current tariff. A lovely little value from the Wahluke Slope.

I grabbed all of the remaining stock in Seattle, but it’s still not all that much. Please limit order requests to 6 bottles, and we’ll do our best to fulfill all requests. The wine is in the warehouse and ready for immediate pickup or shipping during the spring shipping window.

Comments are closed.

