2010 Domaine Serene Pinot Noir Evenstad Reserve

Hello friends. Our offering comes later in the day than usual, but it took a few hours to lock this down, and I don’t want to wait until tomorrow morning.

Today has been one of those days where the Full Pull model hums along, when our vast network of wine spies really comes through in the clutch.

Right around noon, the first spies (our list members) reported in. “Have you seen today’s Wine Spectator Insider,” they asked? Why no, no I hadn’t (what can I say; some of you are faster than me), but I quickly opened it up to find the following:

Wine Spectator (Harvey Steiman): “($65); [REVIEW TEXT WITHHELD]. 95pts.”

This is a big deal when it comes to Spectator and Oregon Pinot. In their entire history, they have only given three Oregon Pinot Noirs stronger reviews (a 96 and two 97s). Considering the score, price, and production (6000 cases), this is the strongest candidate of the year from the entire PacNW to land on the Spectator Top 100 list. I’d be actively surprised if it doesn’t.

After seeing that review, I began reaching out to our second set of wine spies (our industry friends), and soon learned from one particularly helpful little bird that the winery had just put a whole mess of this wine on a truck bound for Seattle, the first shipment of the new vintage. It’s set to land one week from today, and I’m guessing the demand will be high. Hence the desire for the quick turnaround.

The bad news, of course, since the wine won’t be getting here for another week, is that I haven’t tasted this vintage. But given the pedigree of the winery, our list’s history with the winery (we’ve offered the 2007 and 2008 vintage of this wine previously), and the stunning, crystalline quality of the 2010 vintage (whose only drawback, as I’ve said many times, has been low yield and hence limited availability), I’m confident that we know the quality we can expect here.

Time to stop talking and hit send. Please give us your order requests with no upper limits (since I don’t yet know what allocations will look like, why not advocate for as much wine as our list actually demands?), and the wine should arrive in about two weeks, at which point it will be ready for pickup or shipping during the next temperature-appropriate shipping window.

Comments are closed.

